Oban’s Penseive

Blogging for Blogging’s Sake

Logitech diNovo Edge + Macbook = Cool

leave a comment »


I absolutley love my diNovo keyboard! It just looks so cool in my living room. The thin, sleek design fits perfectly with my new plasma screen. I don’t need to hide it away like my old media center keyboard. In fact, its more of a conversation piece than any art I’ve ever had.

I have to admit that the main reason I got this was because it was expensive and hard to find. Christmas was coming soon, and I have a tradition of sorts of putting the coolest items of the season on my wishlist. I had just bought a new Macbook in November and needed something so that I could navigate while the laptop was hooked to the big screen.

According to Logitech, the diNovo is only compatible with Windows based systems. Well, I wasn’t going to let that stop me. Afterall, that guy on the Apple comercials liked to tout now Apple was compatable with everything. Sure enough, when I finally got the puppy, I was able to pair it no problem. I did have some issues when the computer would restart or go to sleeep. In those cases, I’d have to use the laptop’s trackpad to reestablish the blue tooth connection.

When I setup my Macbook Pro (that I upgraded to after the Macbook was stolen), I was pleasantly surprised to find that the keyboard no longer had these issues. I still don’t know if it was just my Macbook that was having issues, or if all would. It seems to me that things should have worked the same for both computers. I tried to find an answer online, but couldn’t locate anything conclusive.

I did, however, stumble upon a useful guide to setting up some of the keyboards additional functionality that wasn’t arouind when I first received it. On his site 5ThirtyOne.com, Derek Punsaian presents a great article and tutorial (with video) talking about the diNovo’s features and how to get the most out of it with a Macbook. The reason Logitech doesn’t make compatability claims is that the diNovo featrues many multimedia and custom action buttons that require drivers that don’t exist for OS X. I honestly didn’t miss any of these functions before I read Derek’s blog. I think the keyboard is cool enough without them. But I understand how many would be hesitant to pay the price for this keyboard and not be able to use all of it’s cool features. The tutorial shows how the keys can be mapped to their correct action using ControllerMate, an inexpensive yet powerful program for remapping all sorts of devices to perform custom actions. It’s pretty slick.

I don’t know why anyone would use this keyboard at a desktop, but for writing your blog from your living room recliner, this keyboard just can’t be beat.

Written by oban89

February 22, 2007 at 11:56

Posted in Cool Tech, Gadgets, myStuff

Leave a Reply

