Oban’s Penseive

Blogging for Blogging’s Sake

Content-O-Rama

I have spent way too much tim over the last couple of days obsessing over this blog. I have read and researched and bookmarked and clipped everything I could get my hands on related to the technical and design aspects of blogging. That parts fun to learn, but it distracts from the key, which is content. There is so much information about what makes a “good” blog – one that will be compelling and draw readers – that I pretty much lost sight of the reason I wanted to do this in the first place. So, yes, I’d like to have something that looks nice and is organized well, and maybe even has some sort of cohesive content that people will want to read, but that should be the long game. Right now I’ve got to go back to my original plan; that is to write about anything and everything I feel like for a while. After I’ve gotten over the writers block hurdle and once I’ve figured out what aspects of blogging I enjoy, I can decide on what direction I want to go.

I guess what I’m trying to say is caveat lector1. For now, this blog is going to resemble my desktop – a bunch of crap that may appear random, incomplete, or undeveloped, but that makes perfect sense to me.


1Am I the only one who gets discouraged when a rare bit of whit comes to mind to find out that there’s already a wikipedia article on it?

Written by oban89

March 3, 2007 at 12:25

Posted in Uncategorized

