Oban’s Penseive

Blogging for Blogging’s Sake

Flagrant grammar mistakes that make you look stupid

leave a comment »

I came across this all to common list of grammar mistakes.. I’d bet that everyone has at least one of these that they’re secretly afraid they’ll misuse. I know I have to double check any time I use effect or affect. My worst thought is where and were. I mean, they don’t even sound the same!

I’m always disagreeing with people on the use of i.e. and e.g. I just looked it up and it turns out that I had it right and everyone else was wrong.

clipped from news.zdnet.co.uk

In general, we can slip up in a verbal conversation and get away with it. A colleague may be thinking, “Did she just say ‘irregardless’?”, but the words flow on, and our worst transgressions are carried away and with luck, forgotten.

That’s not the case with written communications. When we commit a grammatical crime in emails, discussion posts, reports, memos, and other professional documents, there’s no going back
#1: Loose for lose
#2: It’s for its (or god forbid, its’)
#3: They’re for their for there
#4: i.e. for e.g.
#5: Effect for affect
#6: You’re for your
#7: Different than for different from
#8 Lay for lie
#9: Then for than
#10: Could of, would of for could have, would have
  powered by clipmarks
Written by oban89

March 15, 2007 at 18:39

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

